Learn how to design your chatbot answers - what elements there are and how to build an answer. We also show you how to edit the intent's content.
- Intents view
- Editing chat bot answers
- Structure of a chatbot answer
- Conversational design elements
- Save draft
- Editing intent settings
- Publish content
1. Intents view
In the Intents view, there is an overview of the chatbot's intents that have been created.
After clicking on an intent, detailed information is displayed in the info box on the right-hand side:
- Description of the intent
- Status of the intent
- Typical user requests
- Relevance of an intent
- Rating of an intent
2. Edit chatbot answers
Clicking on the edit button () the editing mode of the chatbot answer opens. Here the current version of the chatbot answers is visible and all contents can be edited and extended.
a) Structure of a chatbot response
The first step is the Query if uncertain. It is not always played out, but only if the AI is unsure whether the intended topic is actually meant. This is followed by the content of the topic, the bot's answer and the defined conclusion. The feedback question is set up by default.
An introductory sentence should be used as the first piece of information for users in order to pick them up thematically. This first information should be formulated in such a way that it provides a suitable introduction even without the preceding question in case of uncertainty.
b) Conversational design elements
The answer can now be created and extended by various conversational design elements.
In the menu item Intents, there is first an overview of the created intents.
This element can be used to store simple text messages. By default, one text field is always stored. Click on the text button to add further text fields.
Individual elements can be removed with the delete icon on the right.
With the link button, the URL to a website can be stored and the button text can be titled accordingly. If required, it is possible to add further links via the Plus button (up to a maximum of 3 buttons per text).
E-mails and telephone numbers can also be linked.
In addition to texts and links, own pictures can be uploaded under Media.
An image is either selected by clicking on the paper clip or dragged and dropped directly into the field. The image is then uploaded by clicking on the cloud symbol.
Via Slides there is the possibility to upload several pictures in a kind of picture carousel. In contrast to the previous option, a title, a description and a link can be added to each picture.
Slides can be added via the "+" button. The "-" button always deletes the last slide. (Here slide 3)
The use of web-optimised images is recommended. This means that the image file should be as small as possible to keep loading times short. Furthermore, graphics should be used in landscape format. Images where the width is greater than the height are optimally displayed in the widget.
e.g. image with 955 x 500 px in 1:1.91 format as .png or .jpg (<150kb)
Videos can be added in MPG or MOV format in the same way. Each video can be up to 100mb, but here too, care should be taken to keep the file size as small as possible to ensure short loading times.
The yes/no question can be used in the same way as the multiple-choice question - but only has the two options yes and no as answer choices.
If users answer the question with free text, e.g. "Yes, please", this will be understood.
Multiple Choice Question
The option to expand the chatbot answer is provided by the next step. The options of the available Conversational Design elements can be viewed by clicking on the field.
A multiple-choice question can be stored. The quick-reply buttons (here App and Website) each have their own partial answer. These are buttons that disappear again after the user has clicked them. Another button can be added with the plus sign.
Example: Users ask how they can reset their password. As there are several possibilities, they must be asked in advance where they would like to reset their password.
The follow-up multiple choice question reads: "Where would you like to reset your password?
Quick Reply Button Selection:
This is followed by an answer that can be selected from the options. The item is completed and a text message can be entered.
The follow-up is a follow-up question with redirection to another existing topic.
Alternatively, users can be offered a form in the follow-up, e.g. escalation to customer service via a form, the so-called human takeover.
The follow-up always starts with a further question about the forwarding topic or form.
In our example, we assume that the users asked how they can log in to their account. Unfortunately, the answer did not help them and now they are offered to escalate their request to customer service via a follow-up and the form:takeover is played:
Follow-up question: "Would you like to escalate your concern to customer service now?"
By clicking on "Yes", the corresponding form is displayed and the user's request is forwarded.
The Happy Path element ends the topic with the Happy Path conversation element. Accordingly, there is no measurement of ratings or conversions and the topic ends with the statement that users are welcome to ask further questions.
If the conversion is set for goal tracking, the Happy Path is selected as the next action by default!
The feedback question should be chosen as the end of an answer if it has an informative aim, to provide the user with information. The feedback (yes or no) can then be used to measure the quality of the answer.
In the statistics section, the ratings of the individual chatbot answers can be viewed.
3. Save draft
Finally, or preferably already during editing, all changes made should be saved. The option to save or discard the current draft can be found at the top and bottom as soon as a change has been made.
If a change has not been saved, the local draft of a user is always displayed. If more than one user is working in a theme, it can be overwritten by another user if it has not been saved.
Let's say a colleague logs into the Hub and adds a Quick Reply button in the reply and saves the adjustment.
However, in edit mode, my local draft, there are still only the two Quick Reply buttons App and Web page. If I now make another change to the content, I must first update my draft to the current status by clicking on the "Discard" button. This is "activated" in such cases, i.e. not greyed out. This discards my locally saved changes and I see the current status of the answer.
4. Editing intent settings
In the editor for the answers, you can find the settings on the right-hand side, which can be called up via the - symbol.
This is structured similarly to the info box in the topic overview. However, there are two areas here:
Under settings, the name of the intents can be changed and the success measurement can be set.
The Information section is the same as in the Info box in the intent overview.
Also note that the status of the intent must be set at the top.
🔴 The red dot means that the intent is deactivated in both the preview bot and the live bot.
🟡 The orange dot marks an intent that is active in the preview bot but deactivated in the live bot. If a new intent is created, it is automatically in orange status so that it can be tested directly in the preview bot.
🟢 The green dot means that the answer content is activated in both the preview bot and the live bot.
If an intent is deactivated in the live bot (status red & orange), a forwarding can be set. This makes sense, for example, if a new intent matches the content of an existing topic and user enquiries are to be assigned to this topic for the time being.
In red status, forwarding is active in both the preview bot and the live bot. In orange status, forwarding is only active in the live bot.
Before clicking the Publish button at the top right of the Hub, all changes made should first be tested in the Preview. Finally, click on Publish and the created content will be available for users in the live chatbot.
6. Publish content
Before clicking the publish button in the top right-hand corner of the hub, all changes made should first be tested in the preview. Finally, click on Publish and the created content will be available for users in the live chatbot.
Good to know:
Changes made in edit mode must be saved manually before they can be published.
The publish button can only be clicked after changes have been made and is otherwise greyed out.
If changes to content are still unpublished, a notice will appear at the top of the Hub.
The recommended procedure is as follows:
- Enter or adapt the content and save it
- Click the Preview button
- Test changes made in the preview chatbot
- Everything perfect? Then just click the publish button and off you go! 🚀